City of Desert Hot Springs

Press Release | RFPs | Job Opportunities

Public Safety Commission

The Public Safety Commission consists of five members and an alternate who are appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the City Council. Commissioners are:

Commissioner Name


Appointed On

Term Expires

Appointed By

Walter Meyer


January 19, 2016

January 2018

Joe McKee

Lee Eastman


January 19, 2016

January 2018

Yvonne Parks

Nina Duarte


June 6, 2017

January 2018

Anayeli Zavala

Donna Lozano


January 19, 2016

January 2018

Scott Matas

Stephen Kelley


January 19, 2016

January 2018

Russell Betts

Staff Representative: Police Chief

Regulary scheduled meetings are held on the second Thursday of each month at 6:00 p.m. at the Carl May Center, 11-711 West Drive in Desert Hot Springs. Please confirm specific meeting dates by checking the city calendar.

Providing citizens with public safety is one of the most important services a city can offer. The Desert Hot Springs Police Department is charged with ensuring the city is safe, drug free, crime free and gang free. The Public Safety Commission is an ongoing public forum that ensures the public is involved in the process. Commission members:

If you would like to be considered for an appointment to the PSC, please download the Commission Application.

NOTE: This is a pdf form that requires Adobe Acrobat Reader.

The Public Safety Commission consists of five (5) members, appointed by one member of the City Council, and ratified by a majority vote of the City Council. Members are appointed for two-year terms. Appointments are made at the second regular City Council meeting in January following each regular election year (odd numbered years). Vacancies are filled by appointment for the unexpired term of the member replaced. (Desert Hot Springs Municipal Code Chapter 2.24)

City Govt »